Finding Out If You Qualify for the Housing Choice Vouchers Program

Verify that you meet the basic qualifications

Applicants must be a United States citizen or a noncitizen who has eligible immigration status. You should be at least 18 years old. Single persons are eligible, as well as households with or without children. Housing and Urban Development (HUD) commonly refers to a household as a “family,” so don’t be confused with the term. A “family” consists of one or more persons, and having children is not required to be considered a “family.”

Read More

What are Housing Choice Vouchers?

Administered by your local housing authority, Section 8 or Housing Choice Voucher program helps low-income households to pay for house rent. Depending on where you live, each housing authority has different preferences, requirements, and services.

The difference between tenant-based and project-based Section 8

Tenant-Based Section 8 - commonly known as the Housing Choice Voucher program - is attached to you the tenant. When you move, the assistance can move with you.

Read More

What Happens Once You Have Your Section 8 Voucher

Excited to check out housing units? Before you go looking for one, it is important to know what the Housing and Urban Development (HUD) regulations or policies are.

The monthly rent of the unit must meet the housing authority’s Payment Standards. Payment Standards are the maximum rent a household may pay with their voucher monthly. Find out what the Payment Standards are for your area by visiting the housing authority’s website. Contact the office if they do not have a website or this information is not available online.

Read More